Education Action



During this extremely tight budget year, our PA Education Committee has been working to maintain funding for our schools. Durham Public Schools  just announced three budget information sessions for the public. They will adopt the 2011-2012 budget at the final meeting May 12th. PA urges all who are concerned about maintaining funding for our schools to attend these public meetings.



Durham Public Schools Calls Three Budget Meetings

Durham, NC - A budget information session will be held on Tuesday, April 12 at Holton Career and Resource Center. Staff will present important information about the budget process and the 2011-2012 Budget. The meeting will take place in the auditorium and begin at 6:30 p.m. Holton is located at 401 North Driver Street.



The Board of Education will hold a special meeting on Monday, May 2, 2011 at 6:30 p.m. in the Fuller Administration Building Board Room, 511 Cleveland Street, Durham, North Carolina. The purpose of the meeting is to receive public comment on the 2011-2012 Superintendent's Budget Proposal. A budget work session will be held following the public hearing.



Additionally, the Board of Education will hold a special meeting on Thursday, May 12, 2011, at 6:30 p.m. in the Fuller Administration Building Board Room, 511 Cleveland Street, Durham, North Carolina to adopt the 2011-2012 Board of Education Budget.



The PA Education Committee is holding a meeting to prepare for the May 2nd and May 12th public hearings on Monday April 25th, 7:00 p.m. at the PA office (1821 Green Street). If interested in joining this committee or the mailing list, please email the Education Chair.

NC Billboard Action



Please take a moment to read the following article, written by Tom Miller, President of the Durham InterNeighborhood Council. Then please email and urge elected officials not to give in to the billboard companies.The City of Durham unanimously rejected Electronic Billboards in 2010 - there is no reason for the state to take away our local control!

WRAL News Story

FACT SHEET ON BILLBOARDS

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Neighborhood advocates and neighborhood organizations all across the state are joining forces to oppose the billboard bills, S.B 183 and H.B. 309, now pending in the general assembly.  These identical bills would allow clear cutting of trees to "improve" billboard visibility and what's worse, the bills would wrest control of billboards from local government and allow as many as 7 billboards a mile along NC roads and highways - even in towns and cities!  The bills would allow billboard owners to put up digital billboards anyplace a regular billboard could go.  These are bad bills and we need to stop them.

 

The bills are due to be taken up in the house and senate transportation committees this week.  We need to write to the members of both committees and let them know we don't want the legislature in Raleigh ramming digital billboards down our throats.

 

The addresses of the committee members appear below.  Send each a brief, but unequivocal message to vote against these bills.  Send the same message to your own senators and representatives.

 

James.Forrester@ncleg.net, Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net, Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net, Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net, Don.East@ncleg.net, Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net, Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net, Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net, Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net, Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net, Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net, Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net, Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net, Richard.Stevens@ncleg.net, Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net, Don.Vaughan@ncleg.net, Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net, Stan.white@ncleg.net, Frank.Iler@ncleg.net, Grey.Mills@ncleg.net, Becky.Carney@ncleg.net, George.Cleveland@ncleg.net, Phillip.Frye@ncleg.net, William.McGee@ncleg.net, Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net, Jeff.Barnhart@ncleg.net, Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net, Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net, Marcus.Brandon@ncleg.net, William.Brisson@ncleg.net, Jim.Crawford@ncleg.net, Bill.Current@ncleg.net, Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net, John.Faircloth@ncleg.net, Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net, Mitch.Gillespie@ncleg.net, Ken.Goodman@ncleg.net, Charles.Graham@ncleg.net, Susi.Hamilton@ncleg.net, Dan.Ingle@ncleg.net, Ric.Killian@ncleg.net, Grier.Martin@ncleg.net, Danny.McComas@ncleg.net, Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net, Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net, Tim.Moffitt@ncleg.net, Rodney.Moore@ncleg.net, Tom.Murry@ncleg.net, Diane.Parfitt@ncleg.net, Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net, Ray.Rapp@ncleg.net, Tim.Spear@ncleg.net, Michael.Stone@ncleg.net,Winkie.Wilkins@ncleg.net 


Housing And Community Development Funds at Risk





Our PA Housing Committee is working tirelessly So ALL can call Durham Home.  They need your assistance with the following urgent action item:

On Monday, May 2nd, 7pm, at City Hall, please stand with the People's Alliance Housing Committee to support the Southside Neighborhood.

 

We will ask City Council to fully fund services & housing to revitalize the Southside Neighborhood, along side the redevelopment of Rolling Hills. The for profit developer hired by the City will just build in Rolling Hills. Durham nonprofits will work with the SouthsideNeighborhood.



Housing, jobs, and services are needed for real transformation of Southside for the people who live there. Southside is one of three target neighborhoods. Please ask the City to complete the revitalization of Northeast Central Durham and Southwest Central Durham.



In this recession, we should increase our commitment to house the homeless and prevent homelessness throughout Durham. SIGN THE PETITION!

Contact City Council at: 560-4333 or Council@durhamnc.gov

Please help us get the word out and take action today!

During this recession it is imperative that Durham maintain basic services that feed the hungry, house the homeless, and improve neighborhoods.

Please ask City Council to:
1- Keep funding basic human services.

2- Maintain the same level of affordable housing production.

3- Invest in all three target areas (Southside, NECD, SWCD) and their residents.

4- Call a "Summit" to develop a funding plan to continue basic services, housing, and other critical needs.
Contact City Council TODAY council@durhamnc.gov and ask them to continue funding services for residents and continue to revitalize downtown neighborhoods.

SIGN THE PETITION! (and then pass it along!)


connect

get updates