Our Billboard Activism is Working!

Your e-mails and resolutions are really beginning to work!  Support for the billboard bills has been dropping off as your legislators have begun to express some doubts about this legislation which has proved to be so unpopular.  The sponsors are determined, however, and the billboard industry’s lobbyists have been relentless.  There is a strong chance that they will push the bills again this week.

 

We need your help right now!  Together we will stop or at least blunt these bills. Please send a short email to the addresses below by Wednesday morning, April 27 (day of a key committee meeting in Raleigh).

 

In your message, say that you are opposed to a measure that would dilute local billboard controls and double the area of trees to be cut down in front of billboards.  Point out the results of the recent state-wide poll about billboards.  Citizens across our state oppose industry's attempt to override local billboard controls.  An April 2011 statewide poll confirms this ...

 

Eight out of every 10 voters surveyed (80 percent) said they opposed allowing up to seven electronic billboards per mile. Senate bill 183 would permit digital billboards every 1,500 feet on each side of any interstate or highway in a commercial and industrial area –as many as seven billboards every mile.

 

Two thirds of those surveyed said they generally opposed any increase in the number of billboards in North Carolina.

 

Seventy  percent of North Carolina voters surveyed said that electronic billboards that flash changing ads every eight seconds would present a distraction to motorists, according to the poll.



More than 80 percent of those surveyed said they opposed removing more trees so that billboards could be seen for longer distances.



Here's a new website with more background: http://www.savetheview.org

 

Please forward this email to your email lists and networks.

 

The time is now. Together, we can stop out-of-state billboard companies from overriding local decisions.

 

Thank you,

 

T. R. Miller

Durham InterNeighborhood Council

 

****

 

Send your short, polite message to important legislators at these email addresses (it's easy, just cut & paste)...

 

James.Forrester@ncleg.net, Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net, Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net, Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net, Don.East@ncleg.net, Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net, Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net, Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net, Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net, Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net, Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net, Gladys.Robinson@ncleg.net, Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net, Richard.Stevens@ncleg.net, Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net, Don.Vaughan@ncleg.net, Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net, Stan.white@ncleg.net, Frank.Iler@ncleg.net, Grey.Mills@ncleg.net, Becky.Carney@ncleg.net, George.Cleveland@ncleg.net, Phillip.Frye@ncleg.net, William.McGee@ncleg.net, Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net, Jeff.Barnhart@ncleg.net, Hugh.Blackwell@ncleg.net, Jamie.Boles@ncleg.net, Marcus.Brandon@ncleg.net, William.Brisson@ncleg.net, Jim.Crawford@ncleg.net, Bill.Current@ncleg.net, Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net, John.Faircloth@ncleg.net, Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net, Mitch.Gillespie@ncleg.net, Ken.Goodman@ncleg.net, Charles.Graham@ncleg.net, Susi.Hamilton@ncleg.netDan.Ingle@ncleg.net, Ric.Killian@ncleg.net, Grier.Martin@ncleg.net, Danny.McComas@ncleg.net, Pat.McElraft@ncleg.net, Chuck.McGrady@ncleg.net, Tim.Moffitt@ncleg.net, Rodney.Moore@ncleg.net, Tom.Murry@ncleg.net, Diane.Parfitt@ncleg.net, Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net, Ray.Rapp@ncleg.net, Tim.Spear@ncleg.net, Michael.Stone@ncleg.net, Winkie.Wilkins@ncleg.net

 


Education Action



During this extremely tight budget year, our PA Education Committee has been working to maintain funding for our schools. Durham Public Schools  just announced three budget information sessions for the public. They will adopt the 2011-2012 budget at the final meeting May 12th. PA urges all who are concerned about maintaining funding for our schools to attend these public meetings.



Durham Public Schools Calls Three Budget Meetings

Durham, NC - A budget information session will be held on Tuesday, April 12 at Holton Career and Resource Center. Staff will present important information about the budget process and the 2011-2012 Budget. The meeting will take place in the auditorium and begin at 6:30 p.m. Holton is located at 401 North Driver Street.



The Board of Education will hold a special meeting on Monday, May 2, 2011 at 6:30 p.m. in the Fuller Administration Building Board Room, 511 Cleveland Street, Durham, North Carolina. The purpose of the meeting is to receive public comment on the 2011-2012 Superintendent's Budget Proposal. A budget work session will be held following the public hearing.



Additionally, the Board of Education will hold a special meeting on Thursday, May 12, 2011, at 6:30 p.m. in the Fuller Administration Building Board Room, 511 Cleveland Street, Durham, North Carolina to adopt the 2011-2012 Board of Education Budget.



The PA Education Committee is holding a meeting to prepare for the May 2nd and May 12th public hearings on Monday April 25th, 7:00 p.m. at the PA office (1821 Green Street). If interested in joining this committee or the mailing list, please email the Education Chair.


Donate Volunteer Find an Event People's Alliance PAC

connect

get updates